Ward 1 Democrats elect delegates to state convention


Registered Democrats in East Boston held a caucus at the Mario Umana Academy on March 3, 2017 to elect twenty (20) delegates and four (4) alternates to the 2017 Massachusetts Democratic Convention, where Democrats from across Massachusetts will gather to adopt a new Party Platform.

The Convention will be held on Saturday, June 3rd at the Tsongas Arena in Lowell.

The ten (10) female delegates elected were:
Lydia Edwards,
Fi Nguyen,
Vicki Dzinzidashvili,
Jane O’Reilly,
Celeste Ribeiro Myers,
Susanna Starrett,
Magdalena Ayed,
Margaret Farmer,
Sandra Aleman-Nijjar and
Claudia Y. Correa.

The nine (9) male delegates elected were:
Joe Ruggiero,
David Halbert,
Adrian Velazquez,
Anthony Gesualdi,
Zachary Hollopeter,
John Ribeiro,
Phil Brangiforte,
Stephen Mazzarella and
Richard Carvalho.

There were also three (3) alternates elected and they were
Claudia Sierra,
Richard Carvalho and
Liana LaMattina.

The following Massachusetts Democrats shall serve as ex-officio Delegates to the Convention with full voting privileges:
Adrian Madaro, State Representative,
Carol Aloisi, Treasurer Democratic State Party,
Gabriela Coletta, State Committeewoman, and
Michael Sulprizio, Chairman Ward 1 Democratic Committee.

In the spirit of inclusion, youth, minorities, and people with disabilities who are not elected as delegates or alternates may apply to be add-on delegates, either at their caucus or online at www.massdems.org

For more information on the caucus or the committee please contact Michael Sulprizio at Msulprizio@comcast.net / 617-438-0952 or check out their Facebook page at https://www.facebook.com/ward1dems/ or  follow them on Twitter @ward1demsEB.

Source: Press Release  Michael Sulprizio, 617-438-0952 or msulprizio@comcast.net